Grand Prize Winners

2016 Grand Prize Winners

Roland Balogh, Guitar *tie (Jazz), Hungary
Carter Low, Guitar *tie (Blues), Canada
Nicolas Hetko, Piano, USA
Raphael Pannier, Drums, France
Isaias Elpes, Bass, Brazil

2014 Grand Prize Winners

Tony Pusztai, Guitar (Acoustic), Hungary
Giorgi Mikadze, Piano, Georgia
Kenneth Salters, Drums, USA
Dywane Thomas Jr. “MonoNeon”, Bass, USA

2012 Grand Prize Winners

Karl Marino, Guitar (Classical/Flamenco), Canada
Demetrius Nabors, Piano *tie, USA
Hans de Wild, Piano *tie, Netherlands
Selim Munir, Drums, Turkey & UK
Michael Feinberg, Bass, USA

2011 Grand Prize Guitar Winner

*Guitar Only Competition
David Browne-Murray, (Acoustic), Ireland

2010 Grand Prize Guitar Winner

*Guitar Only Competition
Shon Boublil, (Classical), Canada

Guitar Category Winners

2016 Guitar Category Winners

Roland Balogh, Jazz/Fusion, Hungary
Carter Low, Blues, Canada
Rhythm Shaw, Acoustic, India
Tom Caunt, Rock, United Kingdom
Stephen Lee, Classical, Indonesia
Peter Skrabak, Rhythm Guitar, USA

2014 Guitar Category Winners

Antal Pusztai, Classical, Hungary
Johan Borgh, Blues, Sweden
Brooks Robertson, Country, USA
Max Goodman, Acoustic, India
Damir Puh, Rock, Macedonia
Roman Nochevnyy, Jazz, Turkmenistan

2012 Guitar Category Winners

Karl Marino, Classical, Canada
Jamie Dupuis, Country, USA
Alex Sill, Rock, USA
Rami Halperin, Blues, USA
Yoav Eshed, Jazz/Fusion, Israel
Jon Finley, Acoustic, USA

2011 Guitar Category Winners

Cory Sterling, Jazz/Fusion, USA
Leon Grupp and Corneille Hutten-berger (duo), Classical/Flamenco, South Africa
Fabrizio Zambuto, Rock, Italy
James Howard, Blues, USA
John Huldt, Country, USA

2010 Guitar Category Winners

Johan Jorgensen, Jazz, Denmark
Manuel Bastian, Rock, Germany
David Brown Murray, Acoustic, Ireland
Brooks Robertson, Country, USA
Jay Thomason, Blues, USA

Update on Previous Winners

Isaias Elpes (2016 Bass Winner)

Interviewed after winning here

Raphael Pannier (2016 Drum Winner)

In Drum Magazine after Win

Giorgi Mikadze (2014 Piano Winner)

Giorgi become a Yamaha Artist and was granted a MakeJazz Fellowship in LA. He has toured and performed with Lee Ritenour.

Selim Munir aka Slim Gabriel (2012 Drum Winner)

Signed to Warner Brothers Records & Performs with his band FACE.

Michael Feinberg (2012 Bass Winner)

Signed first record contract on Sunnyside Records. Also Faculty member at New Jersey Performing Arts Center and the New York Jazz Academy.

Hans de Wild (2012 Keyboard Winner in a tie)

Performed with Lee Ritenour in Europe. Hans won 4 year scholarship to Berklee College of Music.

Carter Low (2016 Guitar Winner tie)

Write Up after Win

Tony Pusztai (2014 Guitar Grand Prize Winner, acoustic)

Won Berklee College of Music Scholarship. Recorded a track on Ritenour’s 2015 “Twist of Rit” album.

Karl Marino (2012 Guitar Grand Prize Winner, classical)

Won Berklee College of Music 4 year scholarship, will graduate in 2017. “Going to Berklee is certainly one of the greatest things that has happened to me. I feel it is a gift of immeasurable value. I am doing a dual major, which I could be able to finish in 2 years from now, in Performance and Film Scoring. I have gained valuable insight in the fields of arranging and composing, and also I get to meet very interesting people who are very passionate about what they do. I have a few film scoring gigs in my hometown of Montreal and I also get to play and polish my craft quite a bit in Boston. It is a lot of hard work, but it is making me grow incredibly as a musician. Thanks to Six String competition!!”

David Browne-Murray (2011 Guitar Grand Prize Winner, acoustic)

won Berklee College of Music Scholarship

“Having competed in the 2010 and 2011 competitions, I had the chance to attend world-renowned master classes and workshops in the semi-finalist and finalist competition. There was such a great community aspect that blew me away. I can’t remember having so much fun playing guitar as I did at the finals-playing at that level was amazing! The people and networking were great!”

Brooks Robertson (2014 Country Guitar Winner)

Won a Berklee College of Music Scholarship in 2015 and a Yamaha paid scholarship to the 2016 Crown of the Continent Guitar Festival & Workshop. He is a Yamaha Clinician and endorsee.

Shon Boublil (2010 Guitar Grand Prize Winner, classical)

In 2010 Shon Boublil won the Grand Prize at the first SST competition which was held in Santa Monica live and was awarded a four-year full scholarship to Berklee College of Music. After spending four years in Boston, with one semester at Berklee Valencia campus in Spain, he graduated from Berklee with a Bachelor degree in musical performance with a highest distinction. Shon made his debut recording on probably one of the most interesting live guitar CDs produced, Six String Theory, along with 20 of well-known guitarists in the world that included Lee Ritenour, B. B. King, George Benson, Steve Lukather, Joe Bonamassa and Slash. Shon has also participated and won many national and international classical guitar competitions including the CMC (Canadian Music Competition) and a first place at the International Classical Guitar competition held in Concordia. He was recognized as a Yamaha Performing Artist and a D’Addario Gold Performing Artist. During these past years Shon performed solo in concert halls in the US, France, Spain, Russia and Canada. No doubt, his decision to study the art of music was an excellent choice.“

Taking part in 6 String Theory competition and CD was a great honor for me. I’m really proud to be associated with the competition as it has opened up many music opportunities which were nonexistent before. Graduated with honors from Berklee in 2014 from full-ride scholarship won in the Six String Theory competition. I have performed solo, in duets on stage with violinists, pianist, singers and with various student jazz bands. I’ve also played my guitar for several student film scoring projects. I’ve played jazz, blues, classical, Latin and ethnic music. The diversity here is simply inspiring and I’m enjoying absorbing it all. Berklee is a lot more than what I imagined it to be. I opened the show for Lee playing solo for half an hour in 2012. It was a great experience. I also opened the show for Sonny Landreth at Peter’s Player in 2012.”


Join The Mailing List